3 Of My Favorite Books in 2011

I’m a little late to the game, but bear with me.  2011 saw a lot of page-turns for me.  I’ve always enjoyed reading, but rarely have I had the time to read what I want to read.  I know some of you, particularly college students, can relate.  I had the fortune of having a semester of down time this year, and tried to make the best of it.  This year, my favorites all came from recommendations!  I’ve got plenty of unread books on my bookshelf that I’ve purchased on my own recommendation, but 2011’s favorites weren’t my ideas.

Here are three of my favorite books I read in 2011, in no particular order.

The Knowledge of the Holy
A.W. TOZER
128 Pages.
Brandon Barnard quoted this book in a series he did at Fellowship Bible Church.  I don’t remember the quote, and I’m not even sure what the series was (it may have been the Nehemiah series).  But it stuck with me.  I got the book on Kindle and it took a while to read.  Not because it was written on a super high level, but because there was so much meat.  It was a great theological book with lots of highlights.

Never Eat Alone
Keith Ferrazzi
309 Pages.
Geoff Duncan recommended this book to me a day before he did a “I Love Books” type blogpost.  I read it back in February and loved it.  It didn’t change my life, it didn’t get me rich by Tuesday, but it did change my mindset.  It’s filled with wisdom on networking, leadership, and business practices.  It’s an easy read, and it comes highly recommended!

Confessions of a Reformission Rev.: Hard Lessons from an Emerging Missional Church
Mark Driscoll
208 Pages.
This book came courtesy of Josh Groves’ recommendation.  It may be my favorite book of the past three years.  It’s a book filled with insight gained as Mark Driscoll tells the story of Mars Hill.  Driscoll walks readers through the ups and downs of planting a church, experiencing and leading through exponential growth, and the prayer, Scripture, and wisdom behind key decisions.

I always want more book recommendations.  Leadership.  Ministry.  Theology.  Biography.  And be sure to check back Monday for my list of 12 books I want to read in 2012!

Leave a comment

Share your thoughts

