My 8 Growth Goals for 2012

I haven’t done New Year’s Resolutions in years!

Okay…maybe I should be more specific.  I’ve set resolutions…I just haven’t done my resolutions.  I’ve set out to pray more, read more, run more, study more, talk less, and everything else under the sun.  But, as everyone knows, come February, life is just as it was December 1st.

This year, I’m not making resolutions.  But I do have some goals.  I feel like there are differences in goals vs. resolutions.  Goals have a definite, well, goal.  Goals have an endpoint.  Goals have intermediate steps to get where you want to be.  Goals are tracked.  Goals are specific.  In my experience, resolutions aren’t.

So here are some of my goals for 2012.  I hope to be able to look back on the last day of 2012 and say that these were markers in my life for the year.

  1. READ WITH EMMA.  January 1st, Emma and I read a passage (PSALM 1) from the Fellowship Journal and spent four or five minutes talking about it.  It was easy, it was simple, but it was so refreshing.  2012 I believe will see this as a habit!
  2. WRITE 6 BOOK REVIEWS.  Not because I miss school (another post for another time).  I’m in the middle of several books right now.  Entreleadership, Simple Church, The Gospel is For Christians, and You Lost Me.  I’ve highlighted, underlined, and noted all throughout them.  Progress is slow, and sometimes it is easier said than done to connect themes within a book, since my reading is so spastic.  If I set a goal to write book reviews on here, I’ll have to stick with a book, retain it, and be able to communicate what the book’s trying to communicate.  You’ve got to own the information, as one of my teachers told me.
  3. MEET 5 NEW STUDENT PASTORS.  Not just via Twitter, Facebook, blogs, or anything else.  I want to have sit down conversations with 5 student pastors (from anywhere and any denomination) who have been at it longer than I have.  This may be a slow and steady process, or it may be a quick knockout punch at 5 different meals at a conference.  I don’t know and I don’t really have a preference.
  4. EQUIP MORE ADULTS.  I LOVE the adults we have involved with FSM right now.  However, I’d love to continue to see that team expand with adults who are passionate about seeing the students in our ministry equipped and unleashed.
  5. PROVIDE A TRANSITION.  The plans are in development, but I want to provide an event/season/opportunity for the current 6th graders who are coming into our ministry to be taken in by the other junior high students, meet parents, and see what FSM is all about.
  6. FAIRLY EVALUATE MY MINISTRY.  I won’t let “popular opinion”, critical comments, high numbers, or low numbers determine how I “feel” my ministry is going.  I’ll seek out wise, informed, and involved people to speak into situations, and evaluate how I’ve done following God’s leading in the ministry, not the leading of any external factors.
  7. EQUIP MORE PARENTS.  I am going to develop and take specific steps to do better at getting parents involved, from summary sheets of ECHO to Family Worship Nights.
  8. WRITE MORE DEVOTIONS.  I don’t know if I’ll put them online for all to see, or keep them filed away in my personal stuff, but I enjoy writing quick, question/discussion based devotional material.  In 2012, I’d love to compile my thoughts and be intentional about recording the thoughts pinballing in my head.

I’ve got a couple more I’d like to see happen in 2012, but I’m not sure I want to put that out in public yet!  What about you?  Do you have any quantifiable goals for 2012?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Reflections on Psalm 1 « @austinjwalker

Share your thoughts

